Notes from the field: Gallery tour with Nicole Anorve

Last week, we sent Nicole Anorve – a rising freshman at FIT, and our summer volunteer through St. Nick’s Alliance, out to see what’s happening in the New York art world this summer. Below are some of the works and exhibitions that stood out to her.

Janet Fish, Patzcuaro at DC Moore Gallery

Janet Fish

DC Moore Gallery presented their summer exhibition called, Summer Mysterious. The gallery displayed many vibrant and earthy works that respond to questions like, “What is its [summer’s] allure and what do we crave most from it?  What are the memories, hopes, desires, and anxieties related to the season—our intimate mysteries and personal pleasures? In what ways can this time of year transform and renew our psyches?” The piece that stood out to me was Janet Fish’s Patzcuaro, a 42 x 92 inch oil painting on canvas showing delicious ripe fruits and cultural decor tableware. The painting had a wall of it’s own, and from a distance it felt like you were looking through a window. The vibrant colors pulled me in closer to see the thick brush strokes in greater detail. I believed it had to be related to Mexican culture because of the chiles on the table or the bird banner in the background. Upon researching the title, I saw that Patzcuaro is in fact a town in Mexico, so I assume the artist took inspiration for the still life from when she was in Patzcuaro. Looking at this image, I would like to have a summer memory just like this – one that’s filled with bright colorful fruit and flowers as well as, a breathtaking view of the sea.

Liana Finck: Passing for Human at Equity Gallery

Liana Finck
Equity Gallery, a small narrow space on the Lower East Side, presents a solo exhibition of Laura Finck’s work Passing for Human. The space includes 80 ink drawings of her instagram series pertaining to the highs and lows of living in NYC and how relationships evolve. As I began reading into each image, I felt quite uncomfortable reading something so personal. The majority of the drawings she presented were about how rude men acted towards her when she was on dates or even in a relationship with them. I didn’t know whether I should keep reading or walk out, but I’m glad I stayed. I overheard many visitors laughing and saying how relatable some of the drawings were. This got me curious, so I went on reading, and ended up relating with her views of relationships in the end as well. For some of the prints that I disagreed with, I wanted to give them advice as if they were an actual person. There was a spot in the gallery where one is able to sit down and read her book A Bintel Brief, which was published in 2014. Even though this space was available, many visitors just took pictures of the title, possibly to read later at their own leisure. Others just sat on the chair and spoke about her drawings in general, what they found right or wrong with them. I wrote the title down so I could find the book at the library on my own. Spending more time at this show made me realize that I shouldn’t be so quick to judge because of my immediate reactions, and should take time to actually get the gist of the artist true message.

